GEICO Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At GEICO
Shop or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read about experiences GEICO auto insurance customers have had with GEICOs customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.564 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(12820 Reviews) 9426
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12,820 reviews
5 stars
10,349
4 stars
1,093
3 stars
369
2 stars
284
1 star
725
10,577 out of 11,68791%of reviewers would recommend GEICO insurance to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Car Insurance
Review 1 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

premium has gotten to high

PostedSeptember 21, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Miami
State:FL
State:FL
Gender:Male
Age:45-54
Years insured with GEICO:6-9 years
Value/Fairness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Claim Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Has gone up $125 in the past few years ? insane!!
Cons: expensive price hike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Accident/Claim Process was Perfection

PostedSeptember 16, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Boston
State:NH
State:NH
Gender:Male
Age:25-34
Years insured with GEICO:6-9 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was recently involved in an accident that totaled my car. The individuals I worked with at GEICO helped me through every step of the process that followed. Some people have the unfortunate experience of having to argue with insurance to make use of what they're paying for; but I had no such problems. GEICO removed the old car, inspected, and without any problems fully paid out for the value of the total lost vehicle. They even came to my place of work at my full convenience to finalize the settlement. They set me up with a rental I was able to get straight away, and even extended my allowed rental time to help me have a grace period to find a replacement vehicle. They set me up with GEICO's car buying service which I didn't even realize existed until then and that wound up saving me $1000 on a new car! And of course transferring my plan to the new car was a breeze. A cherry on the cake was that to my surprise I had accident forgiveness and my rates didn't even change! I didn't have to pay a single cent out of my normal monthly premium, everything was taken care of. Everyone during this process was not only amiable and clearly professional, but down to earth and genuinely tried to help make this go as perfectly as possible. You never truly know what you're getting in insurance until you have the (unfortunate) need to use it; and GEICO in my case has greatly proven themselves worthy of my continued business. I'm extremely satisfied with how this entire process went and I'm grateful.
Pros: accident forgiveness, friendly, saved money, smooth process, professional
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedSeptember 14, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Lake Havasu City
State:AZ
State:AZ
Gender:Female
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:6-9 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have an excellent experience after my accident. Everyone was very polite and professional. Had everything taken care of in les than a month. Thanks to everyone that had help with this process.
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: 200.00
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Geico is superior in every way!

PostedSeptember 14, 2016
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
State:CA
State:CA
Gender:Male
Age:45-54
Years insured with GEICO:2 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I switched to Geico about 18 months ago and couldn't be happier! I saved over 30%. But when I had the misfortune of being in an accident (I was rear ended), I tried to deal directly with the other person's insurance company. It was nothing short of a disaster. I finally called on Geico and you were terrific! Lynn was my adjustor and he was all about getting my car properly repaired - with no hassles. He was always pleasant and kept me informed of progress.
I had a second incident involving a rental car. Fortunately my company covered the liability (as this was a mixed business/pleasure rental), but I also engaged Geico. Again, the person I spoke with was super nice and super helpful.
Every person I speak with is pleasant, professional, and helpful. You are obviously doing the right things and I very much appreciate doing business with you. Thank you for your superior service.
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: 800
Pros: superior service, best value, happy employees
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This insurance is affordable.

PostedSeptember 12, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Tishomingo
State:MS
State:MS
Gender:Male
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:2 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've been with Geico for almost two years now. I am saving around $400 dollars per year than what I was paying my last carrier, which was Farm Bureau. I just used the payment delay. It allowed me to delay my automatic payment for a couple days beyond the due date. That's so cool! Thanks Geico, your great!
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: $400
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loyalty is rewarded

PostedSeptember 12, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Rockford, IL
State:IL
State:IL
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Years insured with GEICO:2 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been with Geico for a number of years but I always shop for better rates every six months. So far, Geico's have been competitive, though not always the lowest. I've stuck with them because of good service when I do have questions or problems.
I recently experienced my first at-fault accident. In addition to lots of great customer service to make my repairs easier (the claims adjuster, the rental car reservation team, etc...), I found out that my rates will not go up because I earned accident forgiveness by staying with Geico for a couple of years. This is the first time in my life where I feel like an insurance company is rewarding loyalty - a unique and nice feeling! I am glad I didn't switch companies this last renewal season.
Pros: accident forgiveness, customer service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Changing due date

PostedSeptember 11, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Ocoee, florida
State:FL
State:FL
Gender:Male
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:10-14 years
Value/Fairness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Claim Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My premium due date falls on the 21 of the month on rare occasions. My only income is from Social Security which is forwarded to my bank on the third Wednesday of the month.This month it falls on the 21st, and my payment is due Monday the 20th, A quick reference to my policy on line, type in the date I want to pay from list of available dates, and I´m all set. No fuss,no hassle, This type of Customer Service makes for effortless insurance matters and is greatly appreciated.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this company especially the Website

PostedSeptember 10, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Cookeville
State:TN
State:TN
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:10-14 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great company, I have never had a claim, however, managing my polices over the internet via there VERY well designed website is a pleasure. Adding/Changing cover is a breeze. Paying online...ditto! Love the website, it works it works right and its is easy to find what you are looking for. The designers behind this site and app should be given a 'pat on the back' great job guys!!
Pros: website
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Could be easier to sign up.

PostedSeptember 9, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma
State:OK
State:OK
Gender:Male
Value/Fairness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The price is good and I did shop around. I havnt really had any problems with your company. My only complaint is that I could have done this online and the only reason Im being made to talk to a representative is so I can be put through the 'Salesman' treatment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Provide your phone number!

PostedSeptember 8, 2016
Customer Avatar
State:HI
State:HI
Value/Fairness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
OMG Geico, sometimes people's needs don't fit in your 12 question categories. I get that you don't want to pay customer reps, but good service is the cost of that! Having to GOOGLE your phone # is very frustrating.
Put your 800 number PROMINENTLY on every page, especially under "CONTACT US".
The person on the phone was great, but please don't make us work for it. I had questions your site wouldn't be able to answer. There will always be need for customer service humans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 943 next>>