GEICO Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At GEICO
Shop Car, Motorcycle, ATV, RV, Boat Insurance or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read about experiences GEICO auto insurance customers have had with GEICOs customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.567 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(12742 Reviews) 9362
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12,742 reviews
5 stars
10,295
4 stars
1,087
3 stars
366
2 stars
280
1 star
714
10,515 out of 11,60991%of reviewers would recommend GEICO insurance to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Car Insurance
Review 1 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Customer Service

PostedMay 28, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Brownsville
State:TX
State:TX
Gender:Male
Age:35-44
Years insured with GEICO:1 year
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had been with another insurance company for 25 years. In that time I had two claims - one for hail damage and one for an accident. It was a very unpleasant experience trying to just get my vehicles repaired. After switching over to Geico I have been amazed at how quickly and efficiently they worked. I again was in a hail storm and received instance response and an easy process towards getting my vehicle repaired. But that is not what caused me to write this review. My wife and daughter were traveling out of town and they had a flat. She didn't know what to do they were in the middle of no where. She called Geico and they began to assist her and find her help. The customer service lady was beyond kind and helpful. Geico has earned my loyalty for what they did for my family. I am grateful.
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: $220
Pros: best customer service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Website Sucks.

PostedMay 28, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Bangkok
State:WA
State:WA
Gender:Male
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:15 years or more
Value/Fairness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Unable to restart a policy I cancelled when I got rid of my previous car. I recently purchased a car, and have been unable to get a quote, or restart my policy using the website, and spent money calling twice internationally, as I'm located in Thailand right now.
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: $2.00
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Current claim process

PostedMay 27, 2016
Customer Avatar
State:TX
State:TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Years insured with GEICO:5 years
Value/Fairness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Claim Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The beginning of my claim process was ok. The very first rep that assisted me was great. He made sure he found a body shop near my home and he helped locate a tow truck. Once the car reached the body shop there was very little communication and I had to always call and get the status of my vehicle. The day the car was ready for pick up I got a call from the body shop asking if I had the insurance check. I called the claims line and spoke to Andrea. She had to update all the information in the system because NONE of the information regarding the body shop was listed. The communication toward the end of this process was horrible. The customer service was horrible. I thought the way the claim process started was how it would be throughout. I am very shocked that this is how the process works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

CONSTANCE INCREASES

PostedMay 25, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Oregon
State:OR
State:OR
Gender:Male
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:15 years or more
Value/Fairness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Claim Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The state i live in Oregon, Rates do not justify $70.00 for six month increase. Geico wont even show where the increase is, on what line item.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

your web site is horrible

PostedMay 25, 2016
Customer Avatar
State:CA
State:CA
Value/Fairness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Claim Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
your web site stinks
Pros: none
Cons: lousy communication
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I used to like this product

PostedMay 24, 2016
Customer Avatar
from New york
State:NY
State:NY
Gender:Female
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:10-14 years
Value/Fairness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Claim Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
My policy increased because I wouldn't enroll it auto-pay.
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: 0.00
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMay 19, 2016
Customer Avatar
from North Lauderdale
State:FL
State:FL
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Years insured with GEICO:6-9 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been a GEICO customer for many years. Prior to Geico I was insured with Progressive and decided to seek coverage from another company because I felt at the time my insurance monthly rate was extremely too high. Not only that when it came to insurance claims there was always a big hassle with paying claims, they always fought against their customers.
So I left. Then comes GEICO...AMAZING! What else can I say. My insurance monthly rate with your company now is somewhat close to what I was paying Progressive when I left but the difference is that you guys are fair when it comes to paying claims. You actually are there and care for your customers! No hassles! No fighting! claims are paid! That's what I appreciate about GEICO! and for that the insurance rate that I currently have is worth it. I know I could get a cheaper rate somewhere else but I would not get the customer service that I get from MY GEICO! I APPRECIATE YOUR SERVICE!
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: $24.00
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Claim Completion

PostedMay 18, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Oakley
State:CA
State:CA
Gender:Male
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:2 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I wanted to commend both Geico and their service partner, Safelite, for completing my windshield claim in such a seamless, effortless, and timely manner. Placed claim on Sunday; job completed Tuesday. Crew arrived at noon on a window of between 1pm and 6pm. That simply never happens anymore. Unfortunately, this is my second no-fault claim since December, but the service on both has been incredible. Much appreciated.
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: $300
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Happy

PostedMay 15, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Ravena
State:NY
State:NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Years insured with GEICO:2 years
Value/Fairness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Claim Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
They promise the cheapest rates, then once you switch to them- they start to gradually increase your premium at each renewal.
Complete disappointment.
Pros: no pros
Cons: false promises
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Price Savings Great Coverage

PostedMay 12, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Davie
State:FL
State:FL
Gender:Male
Age:35-44
Years insured with GEICO:1 year
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I called up Geico to get a quote to compare it with my Auto Insurance Company rates (the one that's only on line) and WOW am I amazed that Geico saved me more then I expected the savings was about $2,500 per 6 months. The customer service was great and they had me signed up and sent my insurance cards with in 15 minutes. I would recommend everyone to compare their current Auto insurance company rates to Geico Rates you wont regret it.
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: 2,500.00
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 937 next>>