GEICO Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At GEICO
Shop Car, Motorcycle, ATV, RV, Boat Insurance or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read about experiences GEICO auto insurance customers have had with GEICOs customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.573 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(12678 Reviews) 9306
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12,678 reviews
5 stars
10,267
4 stars
1,079
3 stars
359
2 stars
274
1 star
699
10,476 out of 11,54591%of reviewers would recommend GEICO insurance to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Car Insurance
Review 1 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Collision loss settlement

PostedFebruary 10, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Howard Beach, Queens
State:NY
State:NY
Gender:Male
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:6-9 years
Value/Fairness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Claim Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Although the original amount offered to me by GEICO was below what I expected, the adjusters worked with me. After we listened to each others side, the adjuster saw the differences we had and made me whole with an additional check. Also, the adjuster told me they will fight to get back my $250.00 deductable.
This shows that nothing is set in stone and that the company is always willing to listen to their clients as well as make them happy in a time of crisis.
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: $250
Pros: very reasonable, attentive, on your side
Cons: you may have to push them, have to talk to more than one person, can drag a couple of days more
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

thank you for being so easy

PostedFebruary 10, 2016
Customer Avatar
State:MD
State:MD
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Years insured with GEICO:3 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have not had a claim, but I added my other vehicle and it was so easy. I am not to good at PC's and you made it so painless. Just wanted to say thank you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Back With Geico

PostedFebruary 9, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Los Angeles
State:CA
State:CA
Gender:Male
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:15 years or more
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was a GEICO Automobile Policy Holder for over 40 years and when I got my last car I switched to another insurance company only because it seemed expedient. In the second year of coverage, premiums doubled over what I paid the first year. I just returned to GEICO and saved over 50% in premiums. Moreover, the underwriter was "spot on" and I'm glad I'm back. Thanks everyone.
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: $1000
Pros: great customer service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

So much for loyalty

PostedFebruary 8, 2016
Customer Avatar
from San Diego
State:CA
State:CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Years insured with GEICO:6-9 years
Value/Fairness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Have been a Geico customer for over 6 years and I have never actually had to use my insurance for an accident, ever.
Last year, I used my insurance for a very minor, no injury accident. I did not ask for my own car to be fixed, only the other car involved. The gentleman involved in the accident told me the estimate he received from his shop was around 800 dollars to fix and he was given a car rental for a few days.
I am in the process of renewing my policy and due to this accident, , Geico has penalized me and is not giving me the rate I would have if not for using my insurance for this very minor accident. My monthly rate is nearly double what it should be.
In the end, I would have been better off not using my insurance. I feel that is a very detrimental mind set for Geico to put its customers in. To feel as though you cannot use the insurance you have paid for, on time, for literally years. I'm terribly disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love Geico!

PostedFebruary 8, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Ardmore, OK
State:OK
State:OK
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Years insured with GEICO:6-9 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My daughter was involved in a wreck last week. The customer service representative was very helpful and was concerned about my daughter. Her car ended up being a total loss. But, Geico was so fast. We filed the claim on a Monday, they looked at the car on Tuesday, and we had a check in hand by Thursday. We were in shock that it was so fast and hassle free! Thank you, Geico!!
Pros: super fast service!!!, easy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Pricing!

PostedFebruary 7, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Oklahoma City
State:OK
State:OK
Gender:Female
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:1 year
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After receiving my statement for my one year old Nissan Pathfinder from XXX Ins., I decided to shop around for insurance. On a whim I tried GEICO. My mouth dropped. I was going to pay less money for my husband's AND my car with the same coverage as XXX Ins. I had to make a trip to the local office just to make sure I didn't make a mistake on computer. My husband and I couldn't wait to make our 6 month payment. We are saving lots of $ per year on our two cars - 2 for the price of 1. Granted, we are good driver's and have no claims, but that didn't stop our other insurance company from raising our rates every 6 months. I regret the years I'm sure we over paid with XXX Ins., but so happy I found GEICO!
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: $1000
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I can't enter my question in the contact us area

PostedFebruary 6, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Texas City
State:TX
State:TX
Gender:Female
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:2 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have a question that I don't see on your site but there is nowhere to enter it. You only allow for those questions that are the most common. I received a letter from TexasSure Vehicle Insurance Verification and wnat to know if I need to do something on my auto insurance. It says that there is no record of my vehicle being insured. There is so much scheming and fraud, I did not know if this is something that I really do need to respond to or not.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Claims Handleing!

PostedFebruary 2, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Fernley
State:NV
State:NV
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Years insured with GEICO:6-9 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After my accident the insurance company of the person who hit me declined the claim. I called Geico to subrogate for me. The customer service rep that answered was very nice, professional and empathetic. He really helped on a stressful day. The Geico claims adjuster that was assigned to me is awesome. He has done everything in his power to gather information on the case and arbitrate against the other insurance company to get my deductible back. Geico turned a horrible experience into a wonderful one. I really feel that Geico cares about it's customers!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Customer Service

PostedFebruary 2, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Philadelphia
State:PA
State:PA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Years insured with GEICO:4 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had erroneously let my policy elapse, and honestly was having panic attacks..... I had called late night/early morning hours, and was so pleasantly surprised at the agent, who was very calming, as he assured me that he would help me get this corrected. I made my payment, and he explained everything to me. He was more than courteous, as I was trying to get back onto the website, and not knowing I was causing issues with updating the info. He was very pleasant as he asked me to please stay logged out. hahahaha
All in all, I was calm by the end of the phone call, and my insurance is back in place........ so thank you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I will never leave GEICO

PostedFebruary 2, 2016
Customer Avatar
from Ponte Vedra Beach
State:FL
State:FL
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Years insured with GEICO:15 years or more
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been a customer of GEICO since 1996 and they never have let me down. Rather it be a complicated accident claim or a simple roadside assistance need, they have always been helpful, polite and results driven.
THANK YOU GEICO!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 931 next>>