GEICO Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At GEICO
Shop Car, Motorcycle, ATV, RV, Boat Insurance or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read about experiences GEICO auto insurance customers have had with GEICOs customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(12093 Reviews) 8801
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12,093 reviews
5 stars
9,837
4 stars
1,041
3 stars
330
2 stars
257
1 star
628
9,994 out of 10,96091%of reviewers would recommend GEICO insurance to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Car Insurance
Review 1 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Savings galore

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Brucehouston
from Houston
State:TX
State:TX
Gender:Male
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:1 year
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
With Allstate for 20 years. Decided to shop since they really dinged me for my 19 year old daughter' s coverage. Saved $3600 per year with the exact same coverage amounts.
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: $3600.00
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank you for GEICO's user friendly online service

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Customer Avatar
Gecko914
from Melbourne
State:FL
State:FL
Gender:Female
Years insured with GEICO:15 years or more
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was able to get rate quotes and make changes to my policy quickly in June 2014. Today I needed to remove a vehicle. The process was user friendly with additional information given to assist me in the process. Thank you, GEICO!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

BEWARE! THIS COULD HAPPEN TO YOU!

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Victimofuninsuredmotorist
from Jacksonville
State:FL
State:FL
Gender:Male
Age:35-44
Years insured with GEICO:3 years
Value/Fairness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Claim Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I was happy with Geico until my accident. I guess “15 minutes could save you 15% on car insurance” but it can also cost you as well. I have always paid my insurance bill on time and kept good coverage and consider myself a good driver but I still had to come out of pocket when someone hit me. A $500 deductible was one of my expenses. I was stopped at a traffic light when another driver clipped the back of my car. The driver gave the officer an insurance card and claimed he had insurance. BEWARE! This could happen to you. I paid my deductible to get my car fixed thinking I would get reimbursed for my out of pocket expense. Come to find out the driver that hit me had not been paying his insurance for the last six months. Apparently this is something people easily get away with now days. They apply for insurance, pay their down payment, get the insurance card and then don't make anymore payments but if they get pulled over or get in an accident they at least have a card to present the officer. Learn from my experience; call that insurance company immediately to see if they are current on their payments because the card means nothing. I read an article recently that estimated that one in every four drivers in Florida is possibly driving without insurance. Florida is ranked 2nd in the nation when it comes to uninsured drivers, having an estimated 3.2 million uninsured drivers. After my accident I used one of Geico's auto body repair shops to fix my vehicle. When I received my vehicle back, I was expecting some new parts on my 2011 car considering the back quarter panel was smashed in and the bumper cover was damaged from the accident. Not so, my car was just fixed with bondo and paint and I often have to re-align the bumper cover because it's loose now. After I got news from the other driver's non insurance company I contacted Geico to see what was going to happen. They said they would contact the other driver to see what they could do to get reimbursement for my out of pocket expenses. I got a call back from Geico saying the other driver was very cooperative and agreed to pay for damages. I felt relieved but still disappointed about the bondo on my vehicle and the fact that I now have an even more depreciated newer vehicle. A few months later a got another call from Geico saying that the uninsured driver that hit me was no longer being cooperative and that they are refusing to pay. It's been almost a year since my accident and I can't tell you how many times this past year that I could have used that $500 deductible which was practically all my savings. It's scary to think that there are those like me that carry the proper insurance coverage or above that is required by law and still have to come out of pocket when involved in an accident when some other driver was at fault. To make it even more scarier, the same driver and others like them could still be out there and it isn't costing them a dime. Remember the recent study...... 1 in 4 drivers are possibly uninsured. BEWARE!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely the best!!

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Swansboro
State:NC
State:NC
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been with several different insurance companies over the course of my driving life, GEICO has to be by far the best insurance company I have ever done business with. I have been able to reschedule payment dates, change due date, add drivers & cars to my policy without any trouble or hassel. The best insurance experience I have EVER had!! Thanks GEICO!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Permiums go up every six months

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
zjonear
from Dallas
State:TX
State:TX
Gender:Male
Age:45-54
Years insured with GEICO:2 years
Value/Fairness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Claim Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have yet to understand why my permiums keep going up every six months when I have not changed Cars or made changes to my policy.
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: $1.00
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Flexibility

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
KcKo
from Joliet
State:IL
State:IL
Gender:Female
Age:18-24
Years insured with GEICO:3 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I appreciate how flexible Geico is with payment plans. I don't make much money, and based on what day of the month I get paid it is sometimes necessary for me to postpone my payment by a few days. They let me do it all the time and never charge a late fee like so many other companies would. It makes a huge difference in my financial outlook and stress levels. Thanks for understanding that not everything in life is like clockwork!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My first experience with Geico

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Prettyangel
from Silver Spring
State:MD
State:MD
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Years insured with GEICO:1 year
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I must admit after being with State Farm for over 15 years, I was a little hesitant about changing insurance carriers. But I must say I am impressed with Geico's overall service. I love the fact that I can manage my bills remotely with a great Iphone app, I can make claims, call for roadside service all from the palm of my hands, and the customer service reps are great. I am totally satisfied. The only thing I wish is that the roadside service would respond a little faster and not leave me on the road for an hour or so, this is the only part that makes me miss AAA for roadside service, but the fee is pretty convenient included in my insurance. Thanks Geico for making this transition superb!
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: 300.00
Pros: great service, iphone app, feeling secure
Cons: slow roadside service response
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Customer Service and Price

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Grandma2
from Florida
State:FL
State:FL
Gender:Female
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:1 year
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had the most pleasant conversation with Crawford who was not only polite, but made me very comfortable in speaking with me, He answered all my questions without hesitation and reviewed the entire coverage with me without trying to sell me anything I did not need, I hope we continue to encounter other service people as kindly as Crawford, Excellent, excellent customer service. Thank you
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: 250.00
Pros: great customer service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best insurance company in the world!!!

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
geicorocksmysocks111
from Battle Creek
State:MI
State:MI
Gender:Female
Age:18-24
Years insured with GEICO:2 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GEICO has not only the best pricing in the world, but the customer service when you call them is phenomenal!! You always get someone understandable and courteous, and they are extremely helpful. At 22 years old, driving a '10 Mustang GT, I can afford my insurance far more easily than I could at 20 years old in an old Pontiac sedan. I am grateful I checked GEICO out every day!
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: $1500
Pros: pricing, customer service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent cust. servi.

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
anonnnn
from new york
State:NY
State:NY
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Years insured with GEICO:6-9 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Cust. Serv. also willing to help me lower my monthly payments. after review rates on progressive and allstate.
8 years with Geico and keeping it that way....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345...881next>>