GEICO Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At GEICO
Shop Car, Motorcycle, ATV, RV, Boat Insurance or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for GEICO Car Insurance

GEICO Car Insurance

Car Insurance provides protection from losses resulting from owning and operating a vehicle. GEICO has been helping Americans meet their auto insurance needs since 1936. Read about experiences GEICO auto insurance customers have had with GEICOs customer service, claims handling, insurance rates, and online transactions.
Average Customer Rating:
4.592 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(11885 Reviews) 8627
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11,885 reviews
5 stars
9,679
4 stars
1,025
3 stars
322
2 stars
253
1 star
606
9,819 out of 10,75291%of reviewers would recommend GEICO insurance to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Car Insurance
Review 1 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Claim Service

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Customer Avatar
Celicaman
from Greenville
State:IN
State:IN
Gender:Male
Age:25-34
Years insured with GEICO:4 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I came to Geico years ago for the rates and the customer service that is always available 24/7 day and night. We recently were involved in a minor accident. A vehicle merged into our lane on the Interstate on Friday evening, who also had Geico. We called Geico and an agent came out first thing Monday and looked it over. He cut us a check on the spot, so we could have it repaired at our preferred body shop. The car is now fixed 100% in less than 7days. WOW!! Thanks GEICO you just gained a LIFER!!!
Pros: fast claims
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
Mom3
from Irvine
State:CA
State:CA
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Years insured with GEICO:15 years or more
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been with geico insurance for over 20 years. They have been so easy to work with. I have peace of mind knowing that they are insuring my vehicles. Their website was so easy to use. I just used it to add a vehicle to my policy, it took minutes to do! Thanks to geico!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Lacking Important Resource...

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Customer Avatar
ConcernedPolicyHolder
from Auburn
State:WA
State:WA
Gender:Male
Age:35-44
Years insured with GEICO:1 year
Value/Fairness 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Customer Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Claim Service 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I'm a newish policy holder with GEICO and I also work in auto claims for another insurance company, so I have some training and education in the industry.
I wish GEICO had a resource available to policy holders where I could present a scenario to see if it may be covered under the coverages attached to my policy WITHOUT filing a claim.
Plus, it was a strange experience asking the company the question. The first person I got connected with I informed of my reason for calling and they said they could help me. I presented my scenario and then they quickly responded that they would have to get me over to claims as they aren't a claim representative.
I was then transferred to claims and after I informed the 2nd rep. about why I was calling, I was first told that she could not access my coverages and review them with me unless I file a claim. I then specifically asked if there was a resource available to me to ask coverage questions of w/out filing a claim and she said there was not, so I ended the call.
I know some companies just want to get the claims filed and then have other teams or department determine if there is coverage available, but I don't like gumming up the works with claims when there is clearly no coverage. Just seems strange to me, but regardless, the customer service was somewhat lacking.
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: $0
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Sales Representative

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Customer Avatar
Milton
from Houston
State:TX
State:TX
Gender:Male
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:1 year
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I contacted GEICO on July 19, 2014, at 0900 hours, and spoke with Elizabeth. This individual was phenomenal! Such professionalism I have never encountered, especially not over the telephone. Not only did I save a ton of money by switching to GEICO, but Elizabeth advised that this is the reason she enjoy coming to work on a Saturday morning, saving customers a lot of money. She was so pleasant to talk with that I felt as though I were speaking with a family member, and her knowledge of the product was unmatched. Thank you GEICO! You made a believer out of me!
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: $1920
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

First concern was ME! Great Service Quick Response

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Ctock
from Bellevue
State:NE
State:NE
Gender:Female
Age:45-54
Years insured with GEICO:5 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GEICO representatives are always quick to reply to my questions either through email or chat. I can always see the changes made immediately to my account and anything that I make changes to. GREAT service. GREAT prices. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for any type of insurance. Thank you!
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: $250
Pros: great service, concern for me, quick response, great quick service for accidents
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

car insurance

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer Avatar
Chatacorona
from San Antonio
State:TX
State:TX
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
Years insured with GEICO:1 year
Value/Fairness 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I had to have my car towed to a shop, however upon getting there they were going to charge me $100 just to tell me what the issue was. The guy didn't seem to care and I did not feel welcomed at all. Geico told me that the tow company would only drop off the car at the shop and leave. However, I was not about to leave my car. I then called Geico and told them what happened and they made a one time exception and allowed my car to be towed back to my home. I was very greatful and knew I made a GREAT choice by chosing Geico.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Geico Rocks1

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Customer Avatar
Lilo
from Wallback
State:WV
State:WV
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Years insured with GEICO:1 year
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love how easy it is to do exactly what you need to do with Geico. I have a busy schedule and can't always sit and talk to someone to figure out what I need to do to fix my problem. As a person that lives from paycheck to paycheck, my auto payments don't always go thru on the due date. if I get a cancellation notice in the mail after I have already made my payment, I go online and look up my account history. It's all laid out right there for me. I love that I don't have to get on the phone and spend all day trying to figure out whether or not I have insurance coverage. Keep up the awesome work geico.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great customer service

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Steve01605
from Worcester MA
State:MA
State:MA
Gender:Male
Age:25-34
Years insured with GEICO:5 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A++ with customer service everyone I've talked with in the company is awesome I always tell all my friends and family how great Geico is. Awesome job guys!!!!
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: 1230
Pros: service
Cons: none really
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

switched and Geico saved me Money

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Blountstown
State:FL
State:FL
Gender:Male
Age:45-54
Years insured with GEICO:1 year
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was with Progressive for over 20 years, but when our daughter turned 16. My policy went up over 250%. Geico had a great price and the other company lost a long term customer.
Flo didn't tell me either, i had to research it myself.
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: $1700
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Car Insurance
Average customer rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Insurance Increase

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Customer Avatar
Savant
State:SC
State:SC
Gender:Male
Value/Fairness 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Customer Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Claim Service 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My wife and I have been driving safely for about 20years a piece. I have been in one accident my entire life where my break lines broke and I rear-ended another car on the freeway. My wife just got into 2 accidents back to back here in South Carolina. Gieco jacked up our policy and I feel as though they are punishing me since I pay the bills. Yet I have a near perfect driving record since my break line accident happened about 15 years ago.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
12345...863next>>