GEICO Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At GEICO
Shop Car, Motorcycle, ATV, RV, Boat Insurance or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Customer Reviews for GEICO Mechanical Breakdown Insurance

GEICO Mechanical Breakdown Insurance

You have purchased collision insurance to protect your new car in case of an accident and comprehensive insurance to protect against hazards such as fire, theft, or broken glass. But what happens when your air conditioning dies or your automatic windows won't close, just after your car is out of warranty? GEICOs Mechanical Breakdown Insurance (MBI) is designed to protect you from these bumps along the road.
Average Customer Rating:
4.781 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(128 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 128 reviews
5 stars
109
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
125 out of 12898%of reviewers would recommend GEICO insurance to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
Review 31 for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Money Ever Spent

PostedOctober 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
mzav
State:CA
State:CA
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is the best money I have ever spent. We have used this 3 times in the last 2 years to keep my aging Ford going and my husband's Mini on the road. Fabulous service - would recommend it to everyone who buys a new car.
Pros: Spend a little, save a lot
Cons: Can't think of one
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant Choice

PostedOctober 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
ladydee
State:OH
State:OH
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Choosing this coverage was a very wise decision. My A/C broke down and after the quote from my dealer I thought I would have to go without A/C this summer. Then I remembered the MBI I chose instead of purchasing the dealer extended warranty. I put the claim in and they handled everything. All I had to do was make the appointment with my dealer and take the car in. Only had to pay my deductible which was very affordable and a fraction of the total cost.
Pros: fast service
Cons: none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My experience, this was money well spent.

PostedOctober 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
jbleininger
from Ontario
State:CA
State:CA
Gender:Male
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:5 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
I used this service several times. Always professional, ready to help. A real Customer Service operation.
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: 300.00
Pros: Always got prompt results.
Cons: Not available after 100,000 miles
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Experience

PostedOctober 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Geckophile
from Pennington
State:NJ
State:NJ
Gender:Male
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:5 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I took my leaking 2004 Saab 9-5 wagon to the new area dealer and was told it needed nearly $1,100 worth of work. I told the service department to go ahead. I thought the work, seals and sensors and stuff, would be maintenance. I decided to call GEICO just to see if some of the work might be covered by the mechanical protection coverage. The gecko accepted my claim even though I did not call before authorizing the work, which the coverage requires. There were several problems so I had to pay multiple deductibles, but the gecko negotiated the price down by about $175. The bottom line is that my potential bill was reduced by almost half in spite of the multiple deductibles. I was very pleased. I think I will trade the car when the GEICO mechanical coverage expires because I won't have the gecko to help me with mechanical problems any more.
Pros: Fast service, got price reduced
Cons: None
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

best investment ever

PostedOctober 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Luly
State:FL
State:FL
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
You expect the best from Geico and you get it. I have been with Geico for approximately 25 years. Throughout, Geico has provided great service.
Pros: This works like an extended warranty.
Cons: Have to remember to call them before any work is done. However, they respond immediately.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MBI

PostedOctober 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Solarmapper
from Meridian
State:MS
State:MS
Gender:Male
Age:45-54
Years insured with GEICO:15 years or more
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got my AC replaced in the Mississippi summer.
Pros: works when original warranty expires
Cons: None
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

MBI is a Lifesaver

PostedOctober 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Nesi
State:FL
State:FL
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had Geico since 1998 and have used MBI about 3 times, I believe. The most expensive being close to $1,500.00 for the A/C compressor in my last car. Thank God for Geico. I live in Orlando, Florida and it is hot down here! This is a great service! The $250 was a lot easier to come up with than the $1,500.00. Thanks Geico!!!
Pros: $250 is better than several hundred or thousands.
Cons: $250 is still a lot when you don't have a lot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Window Stuck

PostedOctober 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Joni
from Fair Oaks
State:CA
State:CA
Gender:Female
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:15 years or more
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My left-side window motor quit working and I couldn't roll it up or down.
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: 250.00
Pros: Fast and very courteous
Cons: none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedOctober 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
GARDINER
from LEXINGTON
State:KY
State:KY
Gender:Female
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:15 years or more
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EXCELLENT ADDITIONAL SERVICE PROVIDED THROUGH GEICO INSURANCE AND I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS FEATURE TO ALL INSURANCE CARRIERS
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: 464.00
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedOctober 5, 2009
Customer Avatar
Chap
from Powder Springs
State:GA
State:GA
Gender:Male
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:15 years or more
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent response time to all claims. The breakdown ins is an absolute must in our household. Have used it on two vehicles. Could not be happier with service.
Pros: We have had geico for years, would not change. Always had excellent service. The claim service is exceptional .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.