GEICO Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At GEICO
Shop Car, Motorcycle, ATV, RV, Boat Insurance or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for GEICO Mechanical Breakdown Insurance

GEICO Mechanical Breakdown Insurance

You have purchased collision insurance to protect your new car in case of an accident and comprehensive insurance to protect against hazards such as fire, theft, or broken glass. But what happens when your air conditioning dies or your automatic windows won't close, just after your car is out of warranty? GEICOs Mechanical Breakdown Insurance (MBI) is designed to protect you from these bumps along the road.
Average Customer Rating:
4.781 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(128 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 128 reviews
5 stars
109
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
125 out of 12898%of reviewers would recommend GEICO insurance to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
Review 41 for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Service

PostedOctober 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
turbomark
from chandler
State:AZ
State:AZ
Gender:Male
Age:25-34
Years insured with GEICO:5 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First of all I would like to thank everyone involved in the MBI division for there outstanding job. I had a spark plug snap inside the cylinder head of my 2005 sentra while doing a tune-up and if it had not been for my MBI insurance coverage I was looking at a big bill. I would highly recommend this coverage for all that qualify
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: 500
Pros: Everything was taken care of between MBI and the repair shop
Cons: Nothing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

smartest coverage I got for my car

PostedOctober 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
Stingray
from Lakewood
State:WA
State:WA
Gender:Male
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:15 years or more
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GEICO's response was excellent and the claim was handled in an efficient manner. The one problem I had was the facility I picked was not the best as I found out after I picked up my car the repair was done but they failed to return my car to the condition it was in. The problem in no way was the fault of GEICO. I picked a chevy dealership thinking they would provide the best service for my corvette and was not satifisfied with their workmanship.
Pros: 24 hour availability
Cons: Do not reccomend repair facilities
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great company

PostedOctober 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
besh
from Gloucester
State:VA
State:VA
Gender:Male
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:15 years or more
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
everything and everyone was outstanding the dealer was shocked how fast they received the money
Cons: can not think of anything
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A real commodity

PostedOctober 6, 2009
Customer Avatar
cojack
from Mineola
State:NY
State:NY
Gender:Male
Age:45-54
Years insured with GEICO:10-14 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a policy with peace of mind that even the competition could match.
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: $1800
Pros: Peace of mind
Cons: How can there be any Cons with superior coverage
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Claim

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
ireplicant
from Centreville
State:VA
State:VA
Gender:Male
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:15 years or more
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GEICO handled my mechanical breakdown claim quickly and expediently. They did all of the negotiating with the repair facility. I did not have to haggle with the shop that repaired my car.
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: $500.00
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
airforcewife
State:NJ
State:NJ
Gender:Female
Age:25-34
Years insured with GEICO:5 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I didn't even realize I had this on my insurance and I had just happen to look at my policy the month before. My husband and I were driving and noticed a problem with the dash so we stopped at the neartest dealer and they took it in, I then came home and called Geico and asked about what this was on my policy they explained it to me and then walked me through the whole process. I had my car back to me in 24 hours and only had to pay the $250 deductile which saved us about $300.
Pros: quick and friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Partner

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Trapper4
from Brooklyn
State:NY
State:NY
Gender:Male
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:15 years or more
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
When I have had a problem Geico has either sent a very qualified person to the dealership to discuss the repairs with the. I know that I'm getting the repairs done right the first time. When I had repeat occurence Geico was there to contact the dealership to get this fixed. The mechanics know they are dealing with knowledgeable people so there is no monkey business.
Amount Saved by Switching to GEICO: 300.00
Pros: When I'm dealing with the dealership over the repairs I don't feel I'm alone and at their mercy.
Cons: None
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good service

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
rmano
from Orlando
State:FL
State:FL
Gender:Male
Age:45-54
Years insured with GEICO:6-9 years
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good customer service with fast action
Pros: Fast and with all information
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Purchase that WORKS!

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
aky13
from Rockville
State:MD
State:MD
Gender:Male
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:15 years or more
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
How many times, over the last 20 years or so, have you bought something that performed EXACTLY as it was advertised? GEICO Mechanical Breakdown Insurance is one of those rarities.
I bought this insurance at a tiny fraction of the "extended warranty" sold by dealers or other companies. Fortunately, I did not need it until the beginning of this Summer when my car air conditioner literally exploded.
I called GEICO and had repair authorization almost immediately after I ended my conversation. There was NO hassle. GEICO told me to take the car ANYWHERE, even to a dealer - which I did to assure genuine parts. GEICO paid the dealer directly. I did not need to lay out any money and then await reimbursement.
THIS is the way ALL purchases should work!
Pros: Exactly as advertised!
Cons: NONE
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
Average customer rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Bang for the Buck!

PostedOctober 7, 2009
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
from Lutz
State:FL
State:FL
Gender:Male
Age:55 and over
Years insured with GEICO:15 years or more
Value/Fairness 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Customer Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claim Service 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanical Breakdown Coverage has been a great value. It has more than paid for itself in the fifteen years or so of coverage. There have never been any hassles about repairs or repair facilities. If I'm not satisfied, GEICO is not satisfied. It can't get any better than that!!!
Pros: Coverage not offered by other insurers
Cons: I have experienced none!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.